Introduction

I sometimes daydream about the days where knights rode handsome steeds and won the hearts of fair maidens with their exploits of valor and conquest. And before you close your browser, roll your eyes, and say, “Oh brother, a hopeless romantic, this is going to be sap,” just wait a second. First of all, I should introduce myself. My name is Lotte Graham. For years now, I have been in pursuit of finding the man of my dreams. I have never wanted to be one of those girls who sits on her thumbs waiting for Prince Charming to fall into her lap. I am a go getter. If I want something, I go after it, rather like a pit bull. Dogged determination. Anyway, to get back to what I was saying…

I have often thought about the different eras and time periods, and how romantic relationships developed in the olden times. In days gone by, the marriages were arranged or parents would go looking for eligible suitors to introduce to their daughters. Jumping forward in time to the 60s, there were social clubs, weekly dances, and activities arranged specifically for single young people to meet. Fast forward to the present time: the 21st century. What ways do we have for singles to meet? Well let’s see, there’s church. There are sports. There are friends of friends. There is your job. There is school. And then there are always clubs and bars, if you’re into that sort of thing.

I am a good girl. I was born and raised in a Christian home. My core values and convictions are conservative and solid. I don’t go clubbing and drinking and I don’t meet people at bars. That leaves church, work, and friends of friends for ways of meeting new people. For me, my social circle is rather limited. At least I can say I am not alone in my plight.

When I turned 18, I assessed my life, sat back, and thought long and hard. One of my biggest dreams is simple: To get married and have a family. I have always wanted this, for as long as I can remember. At 18, I looked up, glanced around, didn’t see a man, and came up with the only reasonable solution for me: Internet dating. From the time I was 18 until I was 22, I have been on and off dating sites. I pulled out all the stops, let me tell you. This plane of life was mine to pilot, and since Internet dating was the only option I had that actually GAVE me options; I was determined to give it a whirl.

This is my story. If you think you’ve got it bad in the romantic department, wait until you hear the craziness I have had to deal with. From one end of the spectrum to another, from wonderful guys to jerk guys, from smart guys to stupid guys, from clean guys to perverted guys, I’ve had them all! I’ve loved and lost and loved again. I’ve been used and hurt and become the wiser for it. And in the end, all’s well that ends well. But I can’t give away too much of my story yet! Join me on the wild ride of my romance life, and with any luck, I’ll be able to entertain you and maybe even touch your heart in sharing my experiences.

Leave a Reply

